top of page
  • Writer's pictureThus Far Official

SAVE MONEY traveling LONDON!


Here is my very short and sweet video from my adventure in London. Check it out!

My Italy/Uk adventure ended up being by far some of the most expensive times of my life. Which for a guy on a pretty slim budget, was interesting.

So to save you some money here are some of the best lessons I learned!!

Grocery shop. Do this and it will save you so much freaking money. Most hostels have a kitchen so just do yourself a favor and grocery shop! If you can't cook there is no better time to learn and no greater incentive than survival and saving money.

Make friends and share. If I would not have made friends in Venice I would not have gone on a gondola ride. For an hour and a half ride it was over 100 euro. Share food too it will save you money most of the time.

Embrace being an ignorant American. When I was in Venice the first day I forgot to buy a water taxi pass (40 euro) but after I realized they seldom check for tickets I just continued to "forget". Now I am not condoning being a scam artist but as a guy on a very cheap budget I am willing to pretend to be ignorant to save 40 euro. This can apply to many things. I had to do the same thing in London. Except in London I purchased a ticket every time but I did claim to have a discount card which saved me 1/2 to 1/3 of the cost. But if anything ever goes wrong just be very nice/respectful and play dumb.

Suck it up and eat Fast Food. Some folks are against eating McDonalds or Burger King but in the big cities sometimes you gotta bite the bullet. I am not a big fast food person but in Paris and London I could not afford to eat at normal restaurants for more than one or two meals a day. In London a plate was 10-15 pound which is 15-20 dollars. So I recommend doing the fast food route if you value eating and saving money. I believe fast food has a really bad reputation but not all restaurants are terrible for you and most have healthy affordable options.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page