top of page
  • Andrew Neerdaels

I AM BACK!


Wow, one month can really get away from you. The past month has been one of the wildest I have ever had in my life. Let me catch you up!

After spending the new year with my family I said farewell and was left hanging out here in Seville. When you live in a place long enough and when you don't know when you are leaving the magic can sometimes fade. The magic being, having a drive or eagerness to get up early every day and go see the city you live in. After the family had left I was feeling like the magic had faded. To try and get some "stoke" back I started looking up possible adventures. Ryanair, a popular budget airline was having an insane blowout sale on tickets all over Europe. So I felt like I had to buy a ticket and hit the road. The cheapest ticket was to Milan, Italy. So I decided to buy a ticket and travel to Venice. After Venice, I had no idea Rome, Florence, Austria?

In one of my favorite movies 180 South there is a quote that says "Once everything goes wrong, that is when the adventure starts." That quote rang through my head the instant I left the house. It was down pouring rain, which I was dressed for but after walking halfway to the bus stop I realized my backpack is not waterproof. So I hailed a taxi but once the taxi stopped a few people ran and took it from me. Then after waiting for the bus to come, I watched it drive right past the bus stop. THEN after hopping in a cab, there was a crazy accident and then traffic jam in a super crowded area of the city. I had given myself a few hours to get to the airport but I just nearly made my flight.

After arriving in Milan I felt very relieved to finally be at my destination. Other than the fact that Milan is in Italy the city is pretty underwhelming. There is an undeniable beauty within the city. There is the beautiful cathedral in the center along with a gorgeous shopping center.

My hostel was the worst I have ever stayed in. It was called Hostel California. I thought the name was promising but it turned out to be pretty sketchy. The worst part of the hostel was my roommates. I had a lovely neighbor who wanted to answer his phone and talk all night until at least 5 am.

So after that, I was itching to get out of Milan and seek some new adventure. My Next stop was Venice!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page