top of page
  • Andrew Neerdaels

Quick stop in Cordoba and Long night in Granada

This past weekend I visited two beautiful cities. The first stop was Cordoba and then Granada.

Cordoba is a gorgeous, old city. I only spent a few hours here but in that short amount of time, I had the opportunity to see the world-renowned Mezquita. This beautiful mosque/cathedral takes one back hundreds of years. The history that flows through the building is nearly tangible. It is a great visual representation of the mix of culture in religion Andalusia has had over its long history. I knew it would be a fun visit when I crossed the bridge and some street musicians played the Game Of Thrones theme song.

Cordoba is a must see when traveling through Spain. Check out the Mezquita and wander the winding streets. Don't forget to stop for some tapas along the way!

The drive to Granada was epic for me. Growing up in Wisconsin you don't see many mountains. On the drive from Cordoba to Granada, I was able to watch the sunset paint these beautiful mountainous structures and see small towns that look like they have not changed in a hundred years.

Upon arriving we dropped off our luggage at the hotel, then hopped on a bus to go see the Granada at night. There are some freaking excellent look out points to see the Alhambra all light up. The walk down the hill is beautiful and right next to the Alhambra are streets full of tapas bars. The best thing about Granada is you get a free tapa with every drink. This apparently was dangerous because 10 hours and 40 euros later I woke up with a full stomach and a beautiful headache.

Luckily getting fresh air walking through the incredible Alhambra was exactly what I needed. The next day was spent on a tour through what seemed to be a never-

ending Alhambra. This was no question one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The gardens and architecture absolutely blew my mind. If you get the chance you HAVe to see this place. I had a hard time taking pictures because I wanted to take it all in with my own eyes.

It was a quick trip but here are some places to visit in Granada:

  1. Alhambra (no question visit this place)

  2. Wander the city streets around Alhambra

  3. Get a drink and tapa at the many bars

  4. Mae West (From what I hear it is a super fun night club. If you are into such things.)

Recent Posts

See All

Why Do a Year Studying Abroad?

Before leaving for Spain a majority of my conversations went, "So I hear you are studying abroad. That's awesome where are you going?" "I am going to Seville, Spain for both semesters, so about nine m

bottom of page