top of page
  • Andrew Neerdaels

The list of advice


Alright as I mentioned in my first blog post. Going through a study abroad company, often referred to as a third-party or affiliate, instead of a university has some pros and cons. Either way getting a visa is the biggest pain in the butt. This involves a hefty amount of paperwork and going to a consulate for a 10 minute meeting. For me, I had a large list of things I needed, to study abroad for a year this included: Physical and Doctors note, finger prints taken and sent to FBI for a background check ($50-100), photos taken for passport and visa ($15), passport ($125), paper work for consulate, money order for visa ($150), paper work for the company (CEA), and finally postage ($25-80). Side note* the company I went through offered a great deal where I pay $100 and send all my information to them, and they go to my desired consulate to represent me and save me the trip. For me this was worth the $100. The biggest stress was I had to do all these things in a span of two weeks and send it to the company. Them representing me and saving me the trip has been the biggest perk. If you are studying abroad for a year hopefully your visa says it is valid for only 90 days. Do not freak out. However you should go to your company and ask them where you need to go to get the proper paperwork. What this includes is getting your photo taken to fit a Spanish passport (different from USA passport photo) this was ($6). With that you need to fill out a decent chunk of paperwork and then of course pay more money.

The downside of a third-party company. Not going through my university meant that I had to approve every class I was planning on taking with the department head of the subject I was taking. This involved scheduling multiple meetings, having the syllabi handy to turn in, then waiting to see how they would approve said class. It doesn't sound like much, but believe me it was a lot of work. So with that if you can avoid that process by going through your university, do it.

 

Travel:

When planning a trip or buying plane tickets use these websites.

https://www.skyscanner.net/

https://www.expedia.com/

https://www.kayak.com/

Compare prices but open these web pages in an incognito browser! This is because plane ticket websites will jack up the prices on popular destinations or if you are on the site for a long period of time.

If you are traveling with a group of friends look into an AirBnB. This can be cheaper than hostels and often more comfortable.

https://www.airbnb.com/

 

Tips to save money:

1) If you plan on going out. Pregame, pregame, pregame, pregame. What I mean by this is drink before you go to the bars and clubs. This will take away some of the urge to buy lots of drinks there and spend lots of money. Side note* do not drink so much before hand that you are not able to make it to the bars or clubs.

2) Make friends and use family plans. For example with a phone plan. This can save all of you some money.

3) Share meals. In Spain it is not common to divide the check at a restaurant, so either way you will all pitch in.

4) This may be a no-brainer for some but walk everywhere. Taxis are overpriced and metro prices add up fast. I would also recommend bike passes. Most big cities have them and they are very economical.

5) Here is a link to get 10% refund if you book through booking.com https://www.booking.com/s/25_8/thusfa35

 

Other tips:

1) It is somewhat universal but when someone says, "it is the last drink", seldom do they mean that. Often you have at least one or two more.

Recent Posts

See All

Why Do a Year Studying Abroad?

Before leaving for Spain a majority of my conversations went, "So I hear you are studying abroad. That's awesome where are you going?" "I am going to Seville, Spain for both semesters, so about nine m

bottom of page