top of page
  • Andrew Neerdaels

Packing advice from the Semi-Pro

Before going on any trip I have always really enjoyed packing. I get even more excited about the trip by thinking about possible situations I need to prepare for. On the other hand, I am also a procrastinator and even though I enjoy packing I usually wait until the last minute to do it. Packing for my year abroad I really did not finalize my packing until the night before I left. It turns out that works for me to do last minute packing because I did not forget anything but I do not recommend this bad habit for everyone.

Whether you like to plan or like to procrastinate I hope this list helps. (My list for a year abroad)

To start, just like for college use the Two Week Rule. Definitely pack sufficient shirts, pants, underwear, and socks to last for two weeks. For me my pack was this. Note* Obviously take climate into account for where you are going. Also try not to overpack because you will want to buy clothes in the place you are going.

Clothes

  • 8 T-shirts

  • 4 Dress shirts

  • 1 Long sleeve

  • 3 Sweatshirts

  • 16 Pairs of underwear (Always have extra underwear and socks)

  • 16 Pairs of socks (Including 2 pair of winter socks)

  • 1 Pair of Jeans

  • 1 or 2 Pair of Khakis/Dress Pants (depends on your taste)

  • 3 Pair of shorts (2 normal casual and 1 exercise)

  • 3 Pair of shoes (One nice, one comfortable, and flip-flops/slippers)

  • 1 Warm Jacket or thick sweatshirt

  • 1 Winter Hat

  • 1 Belt

Everything Else

  • Toiletries

  • Pack medications and contacts (some of these can not be sent from home due to laws.)

  • Back Pack (Always have at least one day pack to use when traveling)

  • Journel

  • Camera

  • Water Bottle

  • Towel (Although you may be provided one, if you plan on traveling and using hostels sometimes you have to pay.)

  • Phone (Get a sim card from a local provider.)

  • Computer (This is a personal preference item.)

  • External hard drive (This is to save all important documents and to save your photos)

  • Head phones/ Earbuds

  • Charging Cords (This is for your phone, computer, and anything else.)

  • Universal charger (Don't break the bank for one and do not stress if you don't have one before you leave. I purchased one here for 6 euro.)

  • Travel wallet (I use a pouch-thing that goes under my shirt to hold my passport and money.)

  • Sleeping Bag/Blanket (This is a personal thing. It takes up lots of space in your pack and is not super necessary.)

Recent Posts

See All

Why Do a Year Studying Abroad?

Before leaving for Spain a majority of my conversations went, "So I hear you are studying abroad. That's awesome where are you going?" "I am going to Seville, Spain for both semesters, so about nine m

bottom of page